Institute for Academic Medicine Administration

Academic Medicine Administration

Mauro Ferrari, PhD
Ernest Cockrell Jr. Presidential Distinguished Chair
President, Institute for Academic Medicine
Chief Commercialization Officer and Executive Vice President, Houston Methodist
Senior Associate Dean and Professor of Medicine, Weill Cornell Medical College, New York


713.441.8439, Dee Fegans, Senior Executive Secretary for Mauro Ferrari.
713.441.7250, Austin Abu, Project Specialist for Mauro Ferrari.

Mauro Ferrari, PhD, is the Chief Commercialization Officer and Executive Vice President of Houston Methodist, and the President of the Houston Methodist Institute for Academic Medicine where he is the Ernest Cockrell Jr. Presidential Distinguished Chair. Ferrari leads enterprise commercializatin strategies as the CCO and as president of the Houston Methodist Institute for Academic Medicine, Ferrari oversees all research and education programs at Houston Methodist. This includes over 630 academic faculty and their research. He also serves as the Senior Associate Dean of the Weill Cornell Medical College, the primary academic affiliate of Houston Methodist and holds Adjunct and Honorary Professorships at many universities around the world.
Dr. Tim Boone, MD, PhD

Timothy B. Boone, MD, PhD
Professor of Urology
Director, Education Institute
Chair, Department of Urology
Designated Institutional Official (DIO)
Houston Methodist

713.441.6458: James C. Papirtis, Office Manager for Timothy Boone.

Timothy B. Boone, MD, PhD, is the Chair of the Urology Department, Co-Director of the Institute for Academic Medicine and a member of the Neurological Institute at Houston Methodist Hospital. He is Professor of Urology at Weill Cornell Medical College and holds appointments as Professor of Urology at Texas A&M College of Medicine and Baylor College of Medicine where he is a Clinical Professor of Urology.

Edward A. Jones, MBA
President and CEO, Research Institute
Senior Vice President
Houston Methodist

713.441.1261: Tricia Lydick, Senior Executive Secretary for Ed Jones.

Mr. Jones is responsible for academic administrative functions, including governance, communications, financial services, grants and contracts, regulatory oversight and research protections. In addition, he oversees the Academic Office for Clinical Trials which provides leadership for clinical trial operations and for regulatory and coordinator support. Jones joined Houston Methodist in 2005 to establish the Research Institute. Prior to his appointment at Houston Methodist, he was the Administrative Director of Biomedical Research at the Nemours Children´s Clinic and Alfred I. du Pont Hospital for Children. 


Alecia Rister
Vice President of Finance
Institute for Academic Medicine
Houston Methodist
Phone: 713.441.1791

Ms. Rister is responsible for research and education financial accounting and budgeting.

Central Operations

Tong Sun, MS, MBA
Vice President, Central Operations
Research Institute
Houston Methodist
Phone: 713.441.7930

Mr. Sun is responsible for the administrative and operational functions in academic faculty affairs, technical cores, and center grant development.

External Relations

Rebecca Hall, PhD
Director, Office of Communications and External Relations
Institute for Academic Medicine
Houston Methodist
Phone: 713.441.7192

Dr. Hall is responsible for corporate communications, external relations, strategic planning and academic reporting.

Governance and Faculty Affairs

Valentina Rubio Calva, PhD
Manager, Office of Governance and Faculty Affairs
Institute for Academic Medicine
Phone: 713.363.8063

Dr. Rubio is responsible for coordination of the Board of Directors and faculty recruitment, credentialing, and appointments.
Clinical Trials

Pauline Todd
Director, Academic Office of Clinical Trials

Grants & Contracts

Israel Ramirez
Director, Office of Grants and Contracts

Lab Operations

Brenda Hartman
Director, Office of Laboratory Operations

Radiation Safety

Warren Snell
Director, Office of Radiation Safety

Research Protections

Mary Clancy
Director, Office of Research Protections

Research Technology

Ginny Torno
Director, Office of Research Technology

Education Administration
Trevor Burt, MS, EdD

Trevor M. Burt, MS, EdD
Vice President, Education Administration

David Kusnerik

David Kusnerik
Director, Graduate Medical Education

Academic Development
Jessica Uriarte, DrPH

Jessica Uriarte, DrPH
Manager, Academic Development

Graduate Studies

Amy Wright, MBA, EdD
Manager, Graduate Studies and Trainee Affairs

Nursing CE
Shannan Hamlin

Shannan K. Hamlin, PhD, RN, ACNP-BC, AGACNP-BC, CCRN
Director, Center for Professional Excellence
Program Director, Department of Nursing Science


Chris Ralls, MBA
Director, Continuing Medical Education