Team Members

David Chiu, MD - Vascular Neurologist

Elizabeth Blanton Wareing Chair in the Eddy Scurlock Stroke Center
Dr. Chiu is medical director of the Houston Methodist Eddy Scurlock Stroke Center. He serves on the board of directors for the American Heart Association and is an active member of the American Academy of Neurology, American Heart Association Stroke Council, Texas Medical Association and Harris County Medical Association. He is also a reviewer for Stroke and Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery and Psychiatry.

John J. Volpi, MD - Vascular Neurologist

Co-Director, Eddy Scurlock Stroke Center
Dr. Volpi is board certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology for Adult Neurology, and in Neurosonology (including physics, carotid and transcranial Doppler) by the American Society of Neuroimaging (UCNS approved).

Rajan R. Gadhia, MD
Vascular Neurologist
Dr. Gadhia’s clinical interests include hyper-acute ischemic and hemorrhagic stroke management, neurocritical care, telestroke evaluations, novel neuroimaging, and outpatient primary and secondary stroke prevention. His research interests include end-user perception in telestroke, long term cardiac monitoring and biomarkers of atrial fibrillation, novel MRI sequences for evaluating acute stroke, and pre hospital EMS assessment tools to shrink D2N times.

Vivek Misra, MD, FAHA
Vascular Neurologist
Dr. Misra has a particular interest in the management of acute ischemic and hemorrhagic stroke, telemedicine and stroke recovery therapies. He is board-certified in Neurology and Vascular Neurology by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology. He is a member of the American Academy of Neurology, the American Heart Association Stroke Council and the American Neurological Association.

Richard Klucznik, MD

Dr. Klucznik is Director of Interventional Neuroradiology at Houston Methodist Hospital. He has served on numerous committees including the Medical Staff Quality Management Committee, Neurology Care Management Performance Improvement Subcommittee and the Quality Assurance Committee for Endovascular, which he chaired in 2006.

Orlando Diaz, MD

Dr. Orlando Diaz is board certified by the American Board of Radiology and holds a certificate of added qualifications in neuroradiology. Formerly an assistant professor in interventional radiology at Baylor College of Medicine and chief of interventional neuroradiology at Ben Taub General Hospital. He is the program director of the Houston Methodist Hospital Interventional Neuroradiologist Fellowship within the Radiology Department. He is also a part of the staff at Houston Radiology Associates.

Gavin W. Britz, MD, MPH, MBA, FAANS

Dr. Gavin W. Britz is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Neurological Surgery. He leads an acclaimed team of neurosurgeons and affiliated professionals and is recognized as one of the nation's foremost cerebrovascular, skull base and brain tumor surgeons and is included in the “Masters of Neurosurgery” book.

Y. Jonathan Zhang, MD

Dr. Y. Jonathan Zhang specializes in comprehensive treatment of cerebrovascular disorders, including aneurysm, arteriovenous (AV) malformation, dural and spinal AV fistula, carotid-cavernous fistula, cavernous malformation, extracranial and intracranial arterial stenosis or occlusion, hyperacute stroke, and intracranial hemorrhage, with endovascular (catheter-based), and open microsurgical techniques, as well as stereotactic radiosurgery.