Houston Methodist. Leading Medicine.
Houston Methodist. Leading Medicine

Email Forms Manager

Houston Methodist Hospital Education Institute 2014 Annual Creative Writing Competition

e Houston Methodist Hospital Education Institute is pleased to announce the fourth annual creative writing competition for residents enrolled in Houston Methodist Hospital sponsored ACGME and non-ACGME residency and fellowship training programs.

The theme for the 2014 competition is What I've Learned about Being a Leader. Submissions must be original narrative work, and are limited to 1,000 words or less. The judging process will be blinded with regards to the author, level of training, and training program.

To ensure that your submission is considered for judging, please complete all information requested and submit this form no later than 11:59 p.m. CST on January 31, 2014.

Submission Details

  • Original narrative work, 1,000 words or less
  • Essays judged on:
    • comprehension
    • uniqueness and creativity
    • appropriateness to theme
    • writing technique and style
  • Entry should not have been previously published, but may have been presented
  • Entries must be submitted electronically via the online submission form
  • Deadline for submission is January 31, 2014

Suggested Topics

  • Leadership in the team setting
  • Challenges you face as a leader
  • Characteristics that you believe every leader should possess

Award Information

  • Top three winning entries will receive a monetary award and recognition at the 2014 Doctor's Day Event
  • 1st Place - $1,000    2nd Place - $500    3rd Place - $300
  • 1st place recipient will share their winning entry at Southwestern University in Georgetown, TX and at 2014 Houston Methodist Hospital Resident Graduation Ceremony
  • Top three winning entries will have their work published in the Methodist DeBakey Cardiovascular Journal
  • Opportunity for "Lunch with a Legend" for the top three winning entries

2013 Winning Entries

  • 1st place: Eve Cohen, M.D. (PGY1 Transitional Year), Avoiding Burnout
  • 2nd Place: Jeffrey Van Eps, M.D. (PGY3 General Surgery), Conducting in Chaos
  • 3rd Place: Jordan Roberts, M.D. (PGY1 Anatomic and Clinical Pathology), The Fisherman

2012 Winning Entries

  • 1st Place: Rodolfo Oviedo, M.D. (Surgery), With Actions, Not Just Words
  • 2nd Place: Amanda Parker, M.D. (Minimally Invasive Surgery), But It Was Too Late
  • 3rd Place: Wayne Lindstrom, M.D. (Surgery), The Writing of My Constitution

2011 Winning Entries

  • 1st Place: Jason Gillman, M.D. – Internal Medicine, The Serving Girl and the Queen
  • 2nd Place: John McFate, M.D. – General Surgery, Racecar
  • 3rd Place: Grace Kim, M.D. – Family Medicine, Making a difference: One Patient at a Time

For more information, please contact Trevor Burt at tmburt@houstonmethodist.org

* Indicates required information
First Name * 
Last Name * 
Degree * 
TMH Residency Program * 
PGY Level * 
Preferred Mailing Address * 
Address 2 
City * 
State * 
Zip * 
Preferred Phone * 
Preferred Email Address * 
Title of Submission * 
Please attach your submission. Be sure to limit submission to 1,000 words or less. * 
I affirm that I am the author of this submission, and that it has not been previously published. * 

Authentication * 

If the challenge words are too difficult to read, click here to refresh.