Houston Methodist. Leading Medicine.
Houston Methodist. Leading Medicine

Our Team

Our Team

Medical Team

Eamonn Quigley, M.D.
Medical Director, The Lynda K. and David M. Underwood Center for Digestive Disorders at Houston Methodist Hospital
Dr. Quigley graduated in medicine (MB, BCh, BAO) from the National University of Ireland, Cork in 1976 and completed his residency in internal medicine at the Western Infirmary and associated hospitals in Glasgow, Scotland. There followed a two-year research fellowship, leading to an M.D. degree by thesis, at the Mayo Clinic. He served as Lecturer in the Department of Medicine (Gastroenterology) at the University of Manchester at Hope Hospital in Salford, England before joining the faculty of the section of Gastroenterology and Hepatology at the University of Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha in 1986, eventually serving as division chief. He returned to University College Cork, his alma mater, in 1998 and served two terms as Dean of the Medical School from 2000–2007 while also acting as interim director of the Graduate Entry to Medicine program at University College Cork.

Alberto Barroso, M.D.
Deputy Chief, Internal Medicine
Clinical Associate Professor of Gastroenterology, Weill Cornell Medical College

Abraham Bincy, M.D.

Jett Brady, M.D.
Radiology - Diagnostic

Stuart Dobbs, M.D.
Chief Quality Officer, Houston Methodist Hospital

John C. McKechnie, M.D.
Associate Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency
Clinical Professor of Gastroenterology, Weill Cornell Medical College

Howard P. Monsour, Jr. M.D.
Chief, Hepatology
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine, Weill Cornell Medical College

Richard J. Robbins, M.D., FACP
Senior Member, Houston Methodist Research Institute
Chairman, Department of Medicine
Charles and Anne Duncan Distinguished Endowed Chair in Medicine
Professor of Medicine, Weill Cornell Medical College

Peter Schwarz, M.D.

Matthew Tompson, M.D.

Surgical Team

Barbara Lee Bass, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Interim Surgical Director, The Lynda K. and David M. Underwood Center for Digestive Disorders at Houston Methodist Hospital
John F. and Carolyn Bookout Distinguished Endowed Chair of Surgery
Executive Director, MITIE
Since 2005, Barbara Lee Bass M.D., F.A.C.S., has served as the Chair of the Department of Surgery at Houston Methodist Hospital in Houston, where she is the John F. and Carolyn Bookout Distinguished Endowed Chair and Professor of Surgery at Weill Cornell Medical College. Dr. Bass is the founder and Executive Director of MITIE. A practicing surgical oncologist at Houston Methodist Hospital, Dr. Bass has served as Chair of the Board of Governors and Regent of the American College of Surgeons, Chair of the American Board of Surgery, President of the Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract and as a member of the editorial boards of leading surgical journals. Her current extramurally funded research program focuses on health services quality and outcomes research, computational surgery, and surgical education.

H. Randolph Bailey, M.D.
Chief of the Division of Colon and Rectal Surgery
Deputy Chief of the Department of Surgery

Richard Caplan, M.D.
General Surgery

Brian J. Dunkin, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Head, Section of Endoscopic Surgery
Medical Director, MITIE

Patrick Reardon, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Bariatric/Advanced Minimally Invasive General Surgeon
Clinical Professor of Surgery, Weill Cornell Medical College
Chief, Section of Minimally Invasive Surgery
Chief, Section of Foregut Surgery
Surgical Director, Houston Methodist Hospital Reflux Center
Program Director, Advanced Minimally Invasive and Bariatric Surgery Training Program

Wade Rosenberg, M.D.
General Surgery

Vadim Sherman, M.D., F.A.C.S., F.R.C.S.C.
Advanced Minimally Invasive General Surgery
Medical Director, Bariatric and Metabolic Surgery
Associate Program Director, The Methodist Hospital Residency in General Surgery

For more information about the Underwood Center, or to schedule an appointment, please call us at 713-441-9770.

713-441-9770 Facebook Twitter Youtube Google