Eligibility & Application

Applicant Eligibility

To be eligible for the neurology residency, an applicant must meet certain criteria:

  • Have fewer than five years since medical school graduation
  • Be of good professional character with at least three letters of recommendation attesting to their academic and personal qualifications
  • Be a graduate of a U.S. or Canadian medical school accredited by the Liaison Committee for Medical Education (LCME), or a college of osteopathic medicine in the U.S. accredited by the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), or a medical school outside the U.S. and Canada with a current valid certificate from the Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG) prior to appointment, or have completed a Fifth Pathway program through an LCME-accredited medical school
  • Be licensable in the State of Texas and obtain before beginning training a postgraduate resident permit or a valid Texas medical license from the Texas Medical Board
  • Have permanent resident status


Nearly all selected applicants to the program will have scored 92 percent or higher on Step 1 and Step 2 of the USMLE examinations, although exceptions will be made for individual applicants with otherwise exceptional applications.

Applying to the Program

The program is registered through ERAS (ACGME Program # 1804812160). Prospective applicants for PGY2-3 positions can begin the application process by submitting the following materials:

  • Application
  • Personal statement
  • Medical school transcript
  • Wallet-sized color photograph
  • USMLE transcript (transmitted by the NBME)
  • ECFMG status report (International Medical Graduates only)
  • Three letters of recommendation (including a letter from the program director of current training program)


Transfer applicants must seek waiver from the parent program as required by the National Residency Matching Program before applying to the program.

Submit application materials directly to:

Ericka P. Simpson, MD
c/o Christine Hartman, Residency Coordinator
Neurology Residency Program
Houston Methodist Neurological Institute
6560 Fannin St., Suite 802
Houston, TX 77030

If there are additional inquiries, please contact:

Christine Hartman
Residency Coordinator
Phone: 713.441.3768
Fax: 713.793.7272

Ericka Simpson, MD
Program Director
Phone: 713.441.3336