Houston Methodist. Leading Medicine.
Houston Methodist. Leading Medicine

Methodist J.C. Walter Jr. Transplant Center - Houston, TX

Dr. Elkady Wins 13th Annual Trinkle-Banowsky Abstract Competition

Former president of the Texas Transplantation Society Afzal Nikaein, PhD presents the Trinkle-Banowsky Abstract Competition Award to Dr. Wael Elkady.

Wael Elkady, MD a post doctoral research fellow with the Methodist Transplant Center, was announced as the 13th winner of the annual Trinkle-Banowsky Abstract Competition at the Texas Transplant Society’s Annual Meeting at Moody Gardens in Galveston, Texas.

The Texas Transplantation Society was founded in 1987 to facilitate transplantation within the state of Texas. Each year, the Texas Transplantation Society selects one winner among residents and fellows and one winner in their associate member category in the abstract competition. Winners are awarded a cash prize and are invited to present orally at the Texas Transplant Society’s annual meeting.

Dr. A. Osama Gaber, Director of Transplantation, Vice Chairman of the Department of Surgery and Senior Member of Houston Methodist Research Institute was the sponsor for Dr. Elkady.

The research team at Houston Methodist Hospital’s Transplant Center reviewed factors and parameters associated with early graft function in pulsatile preserved kidney donation. This work is part of an ongoing effort to improve outcomes in kidney transplantation by improving the knowledge base from the data produced during transplantation services at The Methodist Transplant Center.